Saturday, November 07, 2009

Limerick

IMG_0468

This Limerick can be seen on the side of the pub : The White House ( on O'Connell street )

Wednesday, November 04, 2009

Saturday, October 31, 2009

Halloween 09 - MM - 1

The famous Mickey Martin has every year an halloween party ( probably the best in town ), for the occasion the pub was all dressed up:
IMG_0422

Tuesday, September 22, 2009

Spirit Store

An Art cafe has open in August in the heart of Limerick, in a quite symbolic place.

Spirit Store

The Sarsfield Bar is located on the corner of Rutland St and Bank Place directly across from the Hunt Museum.

Monday, September 07, 2009

Thursday, August 13, 2009

House [1]

White house, found walking along the new Shannon walk ( side of the stone treaty )

IMG_9272

Tuesday, August 11, 2009

Curragower

A nice pub on the north side of the Shannon: Curragower in front of St john Castle

Curragower

Monday, August 10, 2009

Stone Treaty

Treaty Stone

The famous stone treaty in Limerick
The treaty ended the war Williamite War in Ireland, the treaty was signed in Limerick in 1691, on supposedly that stone.

More: Wikipedia Treaty of Limerick

Sunday, August 09, 2009

The Bard of Thomond

Bard of Thomond

Bronze statue of the Bard of Thomond, it's located on St John Castle Plaza.
The bard of Thomond (ie Michael Hogan) was a poet

"I am Bard to none but the God above
Who sent me the gift of the Song
From His angel-choir, and taught me
to love
The right, and to hate the wrong!
I sing no tinsell'd autocrat's praise,
I crouch at no lordling's knee:
Nor birth nor blood, but the True and
the Good,
And the Loving, are themes for me!"

From "A Life Picture"

Orbituary of the bard of Thomond here

Thursday, August 06, 2009

Rainbow

After the rain, there's always a rainbow, at his end you may find a pot of gold.... or a church in this case

After the rain

Wednesday, July 29, 2009

Thursday, July 02, 2009

Tuesday, June 30, 2009

Thursday, June 11, 2009

Monday, June 01, 2009

Not another exposition in the city

Not an art exposition in the city, just election time, as usual posters blossoms on every streets, this time it's for european election:

IMG_8674

Saturday, May 30, 2009

King Richard ... Harris

The statue of actor Richard Harris
IMG_8650

Limerick born actor Richard Harris had his life size statue erected last year, in Bedford Row ( Sculptor: Jim Connolly, gardauted for, the Limerick School of Art and Design ). The statue represents him as King Arthur, from the movie Camelot.

There is another statue of him in Kilkee.


See also on the Limerick Blogger

Thursday, May 28, 2009

Telecoms

This tower full of antennas used to dominate the town, before the latest additions
IMG_8692

Friday, April 24, 2009

Children Photography Exhibition in and about Limerick

Ive just seen on the Limerick Blogger, that an photo expo is being help in Bedford row.

Limerick to be showcased through the eyes of its schoolchildren
Images of Limerick as seen through the eyes of its youngest citizens will be displayed in a novel way through a unique exhibition.

From the Limerick City Council.

Saturday, April 11, 2009

The pub is being watch....

I wonder what's being captured on this camera on Saturday night ....
IMG_7821

probably me ;-P

The pub on the corner is the Wicked Chicken, and on the other side it's Baker Place (Website with Gig listing: http://www.myspace.com/gigtown.

the end....

This blog will no longer be updated as I have moved away from Limerick.... Limerick, beside the white house pub